Georgia Sports Blog FanShop

December 15, 2013

Georgia Football Awards Banquet

I had the chance to attend the football awards banquet last night. It was a really cool event. Yes, there was plenty of tasty cool aid, but I was thirsty. And I drank it up.

It probably goes without saying Aaron Murray won the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award, as well as most valuable offensive player. He was also elected permanent team captain. Amarlo Herrera claimed Most Valuable Defensive Player honors, while Connor Norman and Kostas Vavlas were named Most Valuable Players for special teams. 

Kolton Houston won the David Jacobs Award, which is awarded to the player that shows courage, determination, and spirit in the face of adversity. Which is right. 

It comes as no surprise that Ramik Wilson won the Most Improved Defensive Player award. As noted here, he barely saw the field last season; now he leads the SEC in tackles. Ramik also won the Charley Trippi Most Versatile Award. David Andrews won the Frank Sinkwich Toughness Award.



Copyright 2009 Georgia Sports Blog. Powered by Blogger Blogger Templates create by Deluxe Templates. WP by Masterplan